Setting Snapshot Permission

A snapshot can have read-only or read-write permission.

To change the permission of an online snapshot to read-only, you must first set the snapshot offline.

Note: If you set read-write permission on a snapshot and set it online, hosts will be able to access and potentially write to the snapshot. This means the snapshot data is not guaranteed to represent the volume data at the time the snapshot was created.

To set a snapshot to read-only permission, click:

Volumes > volume_name > snapshot_timestamp > Set snapshot offline

Volumes > volume_name > snapshot_timestamp > Set read-only

To set a snapshot to read-write permission, click:

Volumes > volume_name > snapshot_timestamp > Set read-write