member delete

Removes a member from its assigned pool and the group and resets the array to its factory defaults. Resetting an array eliminates any group, member, and volume configuration information on the array.

When you remove a member, volume, snapshot, and replication data located on the member is moved (vacated) to the remaining pool members, with no impact on availability.

If the remaining pool members do not have enough free space to store the data from the member being removed, you cannot perform the operation. Increase the capacity of the remaining members until there is enough free space to store the data and retry the operation.

The time to complete a member removal depends on the amount of volume data that must be moved.

You can cancel the member delete operation if it has not completed.

Notes: You cannot remove the only member of a group. You also cannot remove a member if it is the last member in a pool that contains volumes. You must move the volumes to a different pool before you can remove the member.

You cannot remove more than one member at a time.

To check member status, use the member show command. While volume data is moving to other members, the member status is vacating-in-progress. When complete, the member no longer appears in the member show output.

In rare cases, you may need to remove a member that is offline (for example, if the member has experienced a catastrophic failure and is no longer operational). When you remove an offline member, an error message will appear stating that the vacate has failed; that is, the memberís data could not be moved to the remaining pool members. When prompted, you must confirm that you still want to remove the member. Then, the offline member will be removed.

Format

member delete member_name

Variable  

member_name

Name of a member.

Example

The following command removes a member from its assigned pool and the group:

> member delete member16

Do you really want to delete the member? (y/n) [n] y

Member deletion succeeded.