Cloning a Snapshot

You can clone a snapshot to create a new volume with the same contents, size, and thin-provisioning setting as the base volume at the time the snapshot was created. The new volume is available immediately in the same storage pool as the base volume and can be used like any other volume. The snapshot will still exist after cloning.

A cloned snapshot consumes 100% of the base volume size from free pool space. If you want to create snapshots or replicas of the new volume, you will need additional space.

To clone a snapshot, click:

Volumes > volume_name > snapshot_timestamp > Clone snapshot

A series of dialog boxes appear. The information is the same as what is required when you clone a volume. For example, you must specify the new volume’s name, snapshot settings, and access controls. See Cloning Volumes for details.